Parallels between East Timor and Sabah, Sarawak

by Joe Fernandez

OCCUPATION DAY This year marks the 50th year of the continued colonisation of Sabah and Sarawak by Malaya. We are at a crossroads in this watershed year. It's a time for reflection and making decisions. Already, the increasing influx of illegal immigrants and their entry into the electoral rolls is marginalising and disenfranchising the people in these two Territories, especially in Sabah.

In 2012, Putrajaya collected RM 17.88 billion in oil revenue and RM 24 billion in federal taxes and revenues from Sabah.

In the same year, Putrajaya collected RM 35 billion in oil revenue alone from Sarawak.

Ironically, the World Bank released a Report in Dec 2010 in Kota Kinabalu that the two Borneo nations in Malaysia were the poorest in the Federation. Sabah is the poorest.

How much more does Putrajaya want to squeeze from Sabah and Sarawak and for how much longer is this criminal exploitation going to continue?

Already, the Sabah Law Association has concluded in a study that the Petroleum Development Act (PDA) is unconstitutional. The so-called Oil Agreement between Petronas/Federal Government and Sabah/Sarawak, based on the PDA, is unlawful, illegal, null and void. This means Putrajaya/Petronas has been stealing oil and gas in Sabah and Sarawak since 1963/1976.

There are parallels between East Timor and Sabah/Sarawak.

In East Timor's case, the UN Security Council ruled that Indonesia was illegally occupying that nation.

East Timor, now Timor Leste, was free within three decades of being occupied byIndonesia.

Sabah and Sarawak came under new colonialists, Malaya, in 1963 after the British ostensibly departed with the independence of these two nations in Borneo.

The UN Security Council should make the same ruling on Malaya's continued occupation of Sabah and Sarawak. Hindraf Makkal Sakthi chairman P. Waythamoorthy was supposed to assist Sabah and Sarawak human rights activists on this issue besides filing the Class Action Suit in London last July on the internal colonisation of the Indian Nation in Malaya.

There was no Referendum in Sabah, Sarawak, Brunei and Malaya on Malaysia.

There was only a Yes or No vote in Singapore on the independence of the island through merger with Malaya via Malaysia facilitated by Sabah, Sarawak and Brunei.

Malaya is illegally occupying Sabah and Sarawak because there was no Referendum in Sabah, Sarawak, Brunei and Malaya on Malaysia.

Only the Suluk, Bajau and Sarawak Malay community leaders -- not the people -- agreed to Malaysia.

Chinese community leaders in Sabah and Sarawak were against Malaysia.

Orang Asal community leaders wanted a period of independence for Sabah and Sarawak before looking at the idea of Malaysia again and they wanted more information on the concept.

Sarawak became independent on 22 July, 1963.

Sabah became independent on 31 Aug, 1963.

Malaya occupied Sabah and Sarawak on 16 Sept, 1963, Occupation Day, misleadingly known since two years ago as Malaysia Day.

The Federation of Malaya is masquerading as the Federation of Malaysia and referring to Sabah and Sarawak as the 12th and 13th states (in Malaya). Malaysia was envisaged as an equal partnership of Malaya, Singapore, Sabah, Sarawak and Brunei.

The codified Constitution of Malaya is being passed off as the codified Constitution of Malaysia.

Malaysia, notwithstanding its illegality, has alternatively an uncodified Constitution based on the codified Constitution of Malaya, the Malaysia Agreement 1963, Batu Sumpah, and 20/18 Points, among others.

The codified Constitution on Malaysia was never drawn up.