Penang drops District Officers from local councils
Opalyn Mok

GEORGE TOWN (March 1, 2009) : In a departure from convention, the State Government has dropped the five District Officers (DO) from sitting in the two local councils.

Traditionally, the DOs are ex-officio members of the Penang Island Municipal Council (MPPP) and the Seberang Prai Municipal Council (MPSP).

The five DOs dropped are North-East District DO Azizi Zakaria and South West District DO Hasan Saad from the MPPP and Seberang Prai Utara (SPU) DO Mokhtar Mohd Jaip, Seberang Prai Tengah (SPT) DO Ruslan Yahaya and Seberang Prai Selatan (SPS) DO Jusni Ismail from the MPSP.