Is Sarawak a colony or an equal partner in Malaysia?

Gary Tay, 12th Sept 2015

When Malaysia was formed on September 16, 1963, Federation of Malaya,, Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore signed the Malaysia Agreement, and thus Malaysia was born. Malaysia in 1963 - 1965 was a 4-nation federation. Then in 1965, Singapore was separated from Malaysia. So from 1965, Malaysia was a 3-nation federation. Then in 1976, Article 1(2) of the Federal Constitution was amended to say Malaysia comprises 13 states - Perlis, Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor, Negri Sembilan, Malacca, Johor, Pahang, Terengganu. Kelantan, Sabah and Sarawak. With this amendment, Malaysia no longer exist. It was replaced by Malaya masquerading as Malaysia, with, may I say, the tacit approval of the BN government of Sabah and Sarawak.

What then President Sukarno was saying in 1962/63 in opposing the formation of Malaysia was true - that it was a transfer of the Colonial Headquarters from London to Kuala Lumpur. And may I add also, that instead of white skinned expatriates from United Kingdom lording over us, we get brown skinned expatriates from Malaya doing the same. This the stark reality which we must face.

So unless Article 1(2) of the Federal Constitution is re-amended, the talk about autonomy is just that, talk only.